Patent attorney
Dr. rer. nat. Dipl.-Phys. Bernhard Obst

Accredited representative before:
• the German Patent and Trademark Office
• the European Patent Office
• the European Union Intellectual Property Office

Bernhard Obst studied physics at the Universities of Freiburg im Breisgau and Mainz as well as astronomy and physics at Glasgow University. He mainly focused on experimental atom and cluster physics, followed by research in the field of photoelectron spectroscopy on free metal atoms at the Technical University in Berlin and received a PhD.

Through his research he has gained extensive knowledge in the fields of mechanical construction, vacuum engineering, measurement and control electronics, laser technology and optics, including UV, VUV, X-Ray, and particle optics. He concentrated on particle and radiation detection techniques as well as computer-based control and data communication methods.

He has been active since 2001 in the field of industrial property protection and has been working as a patent attorney since 2004. The technical fields he has dealt with the manufacture and verification of valuable and security documents, automotive and rail engineering, specifically automobile electronics, communications and audio engineering, optics and general physics, as well as solar engineering. He also focuses on obtaining, securing and enforcing trademark rights nationally and internationally.

eMail: b.obst@patentberlin.com

Patentanwalt
Dr. rer. nat. Dipl.-Phys. Bernhard Obst

Zugelassener Vertreter vor dem
• Deutschen Patent- und Markenamt
• Europäischen Patentamt
• Amt der Europäischen Union für geistiges Eigentum

Bernhard Obst hat an den Universitäten Freiburg, i. Br. und Mainz Physik sowie während eines Auslandsjahrs an der Glasgow University neben Physik auch Astronomie studiert. Schwerpunkt des Diplomstudiums war die experimentelle Atom- und Clusterphysik. Eine anschließend ausgeübte wissenschaftliche Tätigkeit an der Technischen Universität Berlin wurde mit einer Promotion auf dem Gebiet der Photoelektronenspektroskopie an freien Metallatomen abgeschlossen.

Während der Forschungstätigkeit hat er sehr gute Kenntnisse auf den Gebieten der mechanischen Konstruktion, der Vakuumtechnik, der Mess-, Regel- und Steuerungselektronik, der Lasertechnik und Optik, einschließlich der UV-, VUV- und Röntgenoptik, sowie der Teilchenoptik erworben. Er hat sich intensiv mit Detektionstechniken für Teilchen und Strahlung sowie computergestützten Steuerungs- und Datenkommunikationsverfahren beschäftigt.

Seit 2001 ist er im Bereich des gewerblichen Rechtsschutzes und seit 2004 als Patentanwalt tätig. Die betreuten Technikbereiche umfassen die Herstellung und Verifikation von Wert- und Sicherheitsdokumenten, die Fahrzeug- und Schienentechnik, insbesondere die Kraftfahrzeugelektronik, die Nachrichten- und Audiotechnik, die Optik und allgemeine Physik sowie die Solartechnik. Ferner stellt die Erlangung, Absicherung und Durchsetzung von Markenrechten im In- und Ausland einen weiteren Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt dar.

eMail: b.obst@patentberlin.com